“The Delivery Boy”, “Kasala” | See full list of winners at 2018 AFRIFF Globe Awards

Written by on November 19, 2018

The eighth edition of the Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF) has ended with South African movies leading the pack of winners at the festival’s awards night, AFRIFF Globe awards.

30 Nigerian films made it to the final list of the 140 films that were screened at the 2018 edition of AFRIFF.

Best Short
NIGERIA: Coat of Harms by Stanlee Ohikuare

Best Animation
UGANDA: A Kalabanda Ate My School Work by Raymond Malinga

Best Student Short
RWANDA: Imfura by Samuel Ishimwe


Special Mention
COLOMBIA: Cantadoras. Musical Memories of Life and death in Colombia by Maria Fernanda Carrillo

Best Documentary
SOUTH AFRICA: Ramothopo the Centenarian by Riaan Hendricks

Special Mention
Poisonous Roses by Fawzi Saleh

Best Male Performance
SOUTH AFRICA: Ezra Mabengeza in Sew the Winter to My Skin

Best Female Performance
GHANA: Asana Alhassan in Azali


Best Director
SOUTH AFRICA: Jahmil X. T. Qubeka for Sew the Winter to My Skin

Best Screenplay
GHANA: Kwabena Gyansah for Azali

Best Nigerian Film
The Delivery Boy by Adekunle “Nodash” Adejuyigbe

Best Feature Film
GHANA: Azali by Kwabena Gyansah

Special Jury for outstanding film
(Jury selected documentary for outstanding achievement overall)


SOUTH AFRICA: Not in My Neighbourhood by Kurt Orderson

Viewers choice award

Current track